Merton Council

Merton London Borough Council is the local authority for the London Borough of Merton. It is one of 32 London borough councils in the capital of London.

Merton is an outer London borough, situated in south west London, in the heart of the Wandle Valley. Merton is predominantly residential in character (42% of the area) but with great variations in social mix and density of development.

Although it is one of the smallest London boroughs, with an area of 37 square kilometres, it contains several distinct districts including Colliers Wood, Mitcham, Morden and Wimbledon; and some impressive open spaces including Mitcham and Wimbledon Common. There are a number of smaller local centres scattered across the Borough at Arthur Road, Motspur Park, North Mitcham, Raynes Park and Wimbledon Village, each enjoying its own distinct character.


Merton Council Website